Flower Boy Ramyun Shop

꽃미남 라면가게 / Kkotminam Ramyeongage / Flower Boy Ramen Shop

Cast:

  • Jung Il Woo as Cha Chi Soo
  • Lee Chung Ah as Yang Eun Bi
  • Lee Ki Woo as Choi Kang Hyuk
  • Kim Ye Won as Kang Dong Joo

Year: 2011

Episodes: 16 (45 mins)

Ratings: Unknown

Theme songs:

  • Happy by Yuria from DNPD
  • People Like You by Jung Il Woo
  • Story by Shayne

Story/Synopsis:

Yang Eun Bi (Lee Chung Ah) is a University student preparing for her civil service exam with the dream of being a high school teacher. She accidentally encounters Cha Chi Soo (Jung Il Woo), an arrogant son of the biggest food conglomerate in Korea. Both of them end up working at a ramen shop run by the lazy Choi Kang Hyuk (Lee Ki Woo).

Essbee’s Opinion

72%

So as the end of the year approached, everybody started to make their ‘Best of 2011′. Among those, Flower Boy Ramyun Shop was one of the most common drama people enjoyed. Therefore, I thought that it must have been really good. In fact, I enjoyed watching it, but I found it too much. If it were a Taiwanese drama, I would have preferred it much more, just because Taiwan is known for extreme funny and ‘fake’ stuff. However, it seemed a little queer for a Korean drama.

Throughout the whole drama, I thought how stupid things were, how impossible things were, and how fake the characters could be. A famous Japanese chef who sleeps all over the place and calls a random women wife? Really? A teacher who would hit a student just because she feels embarrassed? The whole concept was just unrealistic.

But somehow… I still liked the drama. I had good laughs and I could ‘feel’ the characters. I found that Lee Chung Ah is really an amazing character. When she felt embarrassed, I was feeling as much, if not more uncomfortable than her. I also find that she really looks like Sandara Park in some angles. Anyways, I loved her!

Jung Il Woo is a very good actor, but I did not really enjoy his character: immature and dull… Most viewer prefer the second lead, Lee Ki Woo. But for me, I did not even like him. Maybe it was caused by him being a mean person in A Love to Kill, which I was watching at the same time. He had a very cute personality, but I just did not like him. Actually, in the main male characters, my fave was Ba Wool. Such a lovable and loving guy. He would sometimes overreact, but that is so cute when it’s for the girl he loves.

What I find okay with the drama despite the ‘too much’ was the length. Surprisingly, every episode was only 45 minutes. This shortened the whole drama and it would not make the plot redundant. I did not find the end too rushy and it did not finish in a frustrating way.

The drama was supported by a series of very enthusiastic songs. I have to say that Jung Il Woo’s singing has improved since his ‘Scarecrow’ from 49 Days. Even if it was not the best OST ever, it gave the drama a little plus.

So you guys see how this drama was an average one for me… But for a lot of people, it seemed like a hit… I guess it would depend on you own preferences. Anyways, I wish all you guys Happy New Year 2012… And let it be an awesome year for every single person and for every single drama :] Please look forward to my post on Faves of 2011!!

Trailer

3 thoughts on “Flower Boy Ramyun Shop

  1. I just randomly came across your blog here haha, but I agree with your post! I have 2 episodes left to finish the drama but it has been “too much.” It’s an enjoyable drama but not one to take seriously. Ohh and my favorite character is Ba Ool, too (: I know a lot of people really enjoyed this drama but I find myself preferring Me Too, Flower :p

    • So you would recommend me ‘Me Too, Flower’?
      All I know about that drama is Yoon Shi Yoon… So adorable…
      and of course Lee Ji Ah, but I haven’t really heard about the synopsis… so imma go to a quick visit on DramaWiki haha..
      thanks for sharing!

      • I would definitely recommend it! (:
        And Yoon Shi Yoon is adorable, and also Kikwang from B2ST is in it (super adorable)!
        And your welcome! (:
        If you check it out I hope you like it!

Leave a Reply

