Material Queen

拜金女王 / Bai Jin Nu Wang

Cast:

  • Lynn Hung as Lin Chu Man 林楚曼
  • Van Ness Wu as Cai Jia Hao 蔡家豪
  • Daniel Chan as Yan Kai Ming 嚴凱銘
  • Jessie Chiang as Lu Yi Xian 路伊嫻

Year: 2011

Episodes: 22 (75 mins)

Ratings: 0.80

Opening: Is This All by Van Ness Wu and Ryan Tedder

Ending: A Million Types of Kisses by Rachel Liang

Other songs: Knockin’ by Van Ness Wu

Story/Synopsis:

Lin Chu Man is a fashion model who does not prejudice against a man for being short, fat, ugly and old, as long as he is rich. So when she discovers that her pefect man is only a hired body double for the real billionaire “Mr. Norman,” and his true identity is a penniless music student in Paris named Cai Jia Hao, she immediately dumps him. As karma would have it, she loses her job to a younger model, her rich lover kicks her to the curb and she finds out Cai Jia Hao will be her new roommate. Lin and Cai’s unexpected living arrangement forces them to reconcile and to really get to know each other. As Lin becomes closer to Cai, her goal of nabbing the real estate tycoon Yan Kai Ming becomes less of a priority. She starts to question whether being rich is what she truly desires.

Essbee’s Opinion

72%

This drama was recommended by a friend of mine. Even if the story did not seem that appealing, I felt like watching a Taiwanese drama ’cause it has been awhile. Moreover, Autumn’s Concerto made Van Ness one of the stars I praise. When I started watching, I did not know what to expect at all. It actually took me 3-4 episodes before actually enjoying the story. The whole fairy tale at the beginning in French did not impress me at all… But Van Ness speaking French did impress me.

At first, I felt like Chu Man was acting more of a second lead character. A person who only wants money and is a bitch to everyone. I would say that her life in this drama is split in three parts: Being with Wang director & meeting with Jia Hao; being with Yan director & difficult breakup with Jia Hao; and being with Gen director & restoring love with Jia Hao. Each part of these experiences will change Chu Man. She goes from a selfish woman to a caring girlfriend. Of course, we also see her struggle with her job and her mother who abandoned her. Even if I did not know the actress, I liked her a lot and she totally has the figure of a gorgeous model.

Jia Hao, on the other side, is not leading an easier life. He got kicked out of the prestigious school of music of Paris and goes back to his little town where he sales vegetables with her sister. With no job and education certification, he lives through a tough time, especially when the woman he hates lives in the same house. However, feelings will develop. However, he would be betrayed and go to his childhood best friend Yi Xian. Then, he becomes an obnoxious violinist and takes revenge on Chu Man. As I mentioned earlier, I was very impressed by his French. And well, I guess he was not playing violin himself, but he seemed good….

Even if the drama did not get me at first, I found myself getting more and more interested in the story. It seems that the same things happened again and again, but under completely different circumstances, which made the whole thing much more exciting, I will not describe the drama as awesome, but I really enjoyed it.

Even if in every Taiwanese drama, there is a crazy family who always speaks Taiwanese are are the nicest people on Earth, I still love watching their loving relationships and loyalty to each other. I’d also mention that I was greatly surprised by the appearance of Danson Tang. It has been awhile I did not see him acting and moreover, I was not expecting to see him in this drama at all. His character is not that important, even if he influenced the plot quite a lot near the end. I also loved Na Wei Xun’s character: the gay manager, Peter Pan. This actor is one of my favorites. He is hilarious and acts sooo well! I will also mention Harry acting Kai Long, the friend of Jia Hao. He only makes me reflex on how a friend is important.

In contrast, the story with Chu Man’s mom was really not interesting. All the parts with her left me completely indifferent, [spoiler] even when she was about to die. [/spoiler] I also hated the relationship of Chu Man with the old man. After two same scenarios, I thought that the producers were going to make a little twist with the old Gen director (whose name, by the way sounds like KFC). However, the same happens and I lost a little interest in the last episodes. [spoilerThe twist of events on the last episode was so predictable. I knew that he director Gen not a bad person. [/spoiler]

In general, I have a good memory about this drama. I enjoyed watching the overall drama, even if the first episodes took quite a while to settle and the last episodes seemed never-ending. I think that the two extra episodes ruined a little the atmosphere, but I still enjoyed the finale. The OST is to be mentioned. I absolutely love ‘Knockin’ by Van Ness Wu. I’ve been listening this song on repeat for a week. The other songs were very likable too.

Leave a Reply

