You’ve Fallen for Me

넌 내게 반했어 / Neon Naege Banhaesseo / Heartstring / 페스티벌 / Festival

Cast:

  • Jung Yong Hwa as Lee Shin
  • Park Shin Hye as Lee Kyu Won
  • Woo Ri as Han Hee Joo
  • Song Chang Ui as Kim Suk Hyun
  • So Yi Hyun as Jung Yoon Soo

Year: 2011

Episodes: 15 (60 mins)

Ratings: 5.7%

Themes Songs:

  • You’ve Fallen for Me by Jung Yong Hwa
  • The Day We Fall in Love by Park Shin Hye
  • Star by Kang Min Hyuk
  • So Give Me a Smile by M Signal
  • I Don’t Know by M Signal
  • Because I Miss You by Jung Yong Hwa
  • Not Just Friends by Oh Won Bin
  • 꼭은 아니더라도 by FT Island

Story/Synopsis:

Lee Shin is a university student majoring in modern music. He is also the vocalist and guitarist of the band “The Stupid.” Shin is known for his good looks and strong passion for music, but in reality he is cold, lacks interest in anything unrelated to music and has neither dreams nor plans for the future. He initially likes Jung Yoon Soo, a dance professor at university, but this all changes when he meets Lee Kyu Won.

Lee Kyu Won is a bright and outgoing student who was born into a prestigious family and is majoring in traditional Korean instruments, especially the gayageum. Kyu Won’s grandfather, Lee Dong Gun, is one of the top 3 traditional musicians of his age and his biggest wish is to see his granddaughter become a traditional music prodigy. Trying to live up to her grandfather’s expectations, Kyu Won immerses herself in training and becomes a university student who knows nothing outside of her studies. As her friends are fans of “The Stupid”, she was forced to go to the band’s concert with them. There she saw Lee Shin performing live, and is immediately captivated by him.

Essbee’s Opinion

73%

I saw the low ratings and I did not care at all. As soon as I saw the trailers, I knew I would fall for this drama. I did expect a drama full of cliches and epic scenes. Some people would find it cheesy or fake, but those adorable moments can melt my heart. The central idea is the same as any other drama: a cold, arrogant guy and an optimistic girl who hate each other at first. Somehow, they fall in love and overcome obstacles together. I’ve seen it nth times, yet I still adored it.

First, I’d like to mention that I love school dramas. Maybe because I can relate more to it, or maybe the characters are just more innocent. The whole story revolves around university students from an art school who are preparing for a big musical. The scenes of practice are super interesting and I love to see how there are talented people everywhere. I could say that this concept resembles a little Dream High.

Second,the story line, as I said, was very cliche. I would say that the first two episodes were a little slow. It took awhile to grasp me. However, as soon as the protagonists started to have feelings for each other, events kicked in, one after another. The middle part was soo good that I was unstoppable. I literally finished the whole drama in 3 days. The ending is not wonderful because of a dramatic twist near the end. So even in this lighthearted drama, we got the usual “I love you, but I will leave you so you can live a better life”. This was a downside of the drama, but I was also expecting it to happen, so I can forgive it.

Third, we got a whole bunch of characters and each was amazing. There are the protagonists, Lee Shin, the popular guitarist and Lee Kyu Won, a talented artist studying traditional music. Then, there are the friends: Bo Eun, an adorable girl and Joon Hee, a child-like hottie. There are the antis: Sa Rang and Hee Joo, who are the usual school bitches. There are also the fantastic director, Suk Hyun and his girlfriend, Yoon Soo who are both very important characters. The families were also very important, especially Kyu Won’s grandfather and Shin’s sister. So I basically listed the whole important cast, and there are so many more characters that I’ll remember.

Fourth, the acting was good. I don’t need much to be satisfied, no need for perfect acting. I only want to be convinced, that the story could almost be true. Even if many says that Jung Yong Hwa’s acting is so-so, I think that it was okay. I mean, he’s charming and he’s a good singer, isn’t that enough? Then, Park Shin Hye was just perfect, as usual. I would name her crying prodigy, she’s very convincing and she just matches the character so well. Finally, I have to mention Song Chang Ui as the director. He was one of my favorite character, a person full of responsibility, sense of justice and talent.

And of  course, the music in this drama is beautiful. Since both characters (and actors) are singers, they often have the chance to show off their ability, especially our C.N Blue leader. My two favorite songs are Park Shin Hye’s The Day We Fall in Love and Jung Yong Hwa’s Because I Love You. Maybe it’s because these are the most often played song in the drama, but whenever I hear these melodies, waves of feeling invade me.

I couldn’t find an official trailer (weird…), but this video shows the hating part between Shin and Kyu Won. Still, pretty interesting. And I do have to tell you, I really love this Lee Hyun Jin, playing Ki Young the boy who feared the stage. He is soo cute and who wouldn’t notice his abs…. 😛

Leave a Reply

