Athena: Goddess of War

아테나: 전쟁의 여신 / Athena: Jeonjaeng-ui Yeoshin / Athena

Cast:

  • Jung Woo Sung as Lee Jung Woo
  • Cha Seung Won as Son Hyuk
  • Soo Ae as Yoon Hye In
  • Lee Ji Ah as Han Jae Hee
  • Kim Min Jong as Kim Ki Soo
  • Choi Si Won as Kim Joon Ho

Year: 2010

Episodes: 20 (60 mins)

Ratings: 16.6%

Opening: I Love You by Park Hyo Shin

Related Show: Iris

Story/Synopsis:

A terrorist group known as “Athena” and led by evil mastermind Son Hyuk threatens South Korea and the world. It is now up to special agent Lee Jung Woo of the National Security Agency to foil their terrifying conspiracy. Jo Soo Young, the daughter of the South Korean president, is kidnapped and hidden away in Italy. Jung Woo and his team are given the assignment to find her and bring her back.

Essbee’s opinion

78%

Even though the ratings are dropping, I still find the story amazing. Athena did start off with a strong episode, but the ones that followed are still exciting! It has definitely slowed down a little, however, every episode keeps me interested.

So first of all, I have to talk about the lead character! He totally reminds me of a shaving commercial dude, or toothpaste commercial or even a car commercial. He has a face of CF guy! But he’s kinda cute :P. Until now, Lee Jung Woo has not been a total interest to me. I really realize that the plot was more interesting than the characters.

Also, the plot was super complicated and it took me about 4 episodes to understand who were the good guys and who were the bads. Also, I’m always impressed with the technologies in this kind of TV series because there are things I can’t even imagine! I also like how iPhones are really useful… like triggering a bomb! The chasing scenes with incredible gunshots glue me to the screen!

I know now that Son Hyuk is the bad guy, leading “Athena” and Hye In works for him. They managed to get into Anti-Terrorism Agency and “work with them”. I also know that Ki Soo is a North Korean that Lee Jung Woo had to monitor. He works more as the leader of a “gang” and he would become an ally of Jung Woo. Finally, we got the workers of the NTS (National Anti-Terror Service) who has to protect a new technology called the TWR. Junho is an adorable character who loves his work and bravo to Choi Siwon for his acting. Jae Hee (acted by Lee Ji Ah) is quite interesting too.

Following the idea of Iris, Athena continues this story of North/South Korea’s reunification and Nuclear technology. Many actors kept their character such as the President, the head of North Korean security detail and his female co-worker. Finally, I just want to mention that the NTS leader really reminds me of the Pink/Strawberry Teddy Bear for Toy Story 3.

As I said earlier, the plot is much more interesting than the characters themselves. Even if they are being tortured mentally, I just really want to know what happens next. In this drama, there are a lot of deaths and some of them completely touched my heart. The drama was really interesting as a whole. Even though the last minutes were not as good as wanted, but the drama’s wrap up was good. I’m definitely likeing this better than Fugitive.

**NOTE: This is not the sequel of Iris. There will be an IRIS2 in 2011.

Episode 1 Preview

Leave a Reply

