Secret Garden

시크릿 가든

Cast:

  • Hyun Bin as Kim Joo Won
  • Ha Ji Won as Gil Ra Im
  • Yoon Sang Hyun as Choi Woo Young/Oska (Joo Won’s cousin)
  • Kim Sa Rang as Yoon Seul
  • Lee Philip as Im Jong Soo

Year: 2010-2011

Episodes: 22 (60 minutes) + 1 Special Episode

Ratings: 26.8%

OST:

  • That Woman by Baek Ji Young
  • Here I Am by 4Men &  Mei
  • Watching by Yoon Sang Hyun
  • Appear by Kim Bum Soo
  • That Man by Baek Ji Young
  • Scar by Bois
  • Reason by 4Men
  • I Can’t by Mei
  • Here I Am by Yoon Sang Hyun
  • That Man by Hyun Bin
  • Appear by Yoari
  • You Are My Sping by Sung Si Kyung
  • You Are My Everything by Jeon Ha Yun
  • A Woman by Bebe Mignon
  • Tear Stains by Oscar
  • Liar by Oscar

Story/Synopsis:

The drama tells the story of Kim Joo Won (Hyun Bin), a seemingly perfect man yet with certain arrogance and childishness in him, and Gil Ra Im (Ha Ji Won), a stuntwoman whose beauty and body are the object of envy of top actresses. One day they went deep into the mountains and entered a strange house. A strange grandmother offered them chocolate to eat. The next day they found themselves changing bodies.

Essbee’s Review

FINAL RATING 95%

So the first episodes were not deceiving at all, the story line was really interesting. Even though the switching body part wasn’t as long as I expected, I have to admit that it created a really funny ambiance. Starting from the first minutes, I couldn’t stop laughing! The drama turns more dramatic after 14-15 episodes, but I enjoyed every second of this drama.

The first and most important reason why I  started this drama was Hyun Bin. I became a fan of him and I couldn’t wait to watch another drama of him. He’s an awesome actor and he’s totally handsome. I knew that he would be acting as a girl and I really wanted to see that! After watching the whole drama, I must say that I’m even more impressed by him and even though he’s leaving for the army, I will wait him comeback the industry!! His character is not that fun, he’s the arrogant CEO who only thinks of himself. But he also got this caring side when he didn’t care about anything except the girl he likes. We see a huge difference between the Kim Joo Won at the beginning and at the end.

The girl, called Ha Ji Won, is a stunt woman who’s actually really pretty, but also manly. She’s the poor girl who doesn’t have a family. She’s very self-protective and not that open at first. Her character wasn’t that special. I think I just adored the chemistry between the main couple. And of course, their acting was magnificent. [spoiler] The crying scenes in the last episodes were so touching! [spoiler]

The supporting couple was very annoying at first. Joo Won and Ra Im were just so wonderful and funny that Oska and Seul were just too much. I didn’t want to know anything about them and they were just causing problems and misunderstandings. However, I really liked them afterwards, when they were resolving their own problems. [spoiler] but isn’t it astonishing that Oska proposed to Seul when they were 41 years old and still  looked so young? [spoiler]

Other important characters were Secretary Kim (who was damn hilarious!), the director (who had a weird haircut!), Ra Im’s best friend (who made a cute couple with the secretary) and the mother (who was evil and mean). They added more a more comic side or dramatic side to the drama and I think that even the “un-meaningful” characters were important. I especially love Ra Im’s father! Another important character was Han Tae Ssun whom I really despised and I didn’t understand what he was doing there…

For people interested about the ending… I would say that it wasn’t amazing. It wasn’t the best ending ever and I wasn’t totally surprised. However, the important is that I’m not deceived. At all. I was feeling very happy for the couple, as if they were my best friends. [spoiler] I liked how they added a light humor at the end with their three children and even Joo Won’s mother was accepting them. The concept of having the final scene as the “past” was really cool too! You must go and see it! [spoiler] Even the time skip didn’t mind me!

Some might say that the drama was overrated, but from people I know, they ALL loved this drama! Having a rating going nearly to 30% is quite impressive and many idol stars are known to have been following this drama. Imagine, a drama premiering with 16% is already strong, but going up and landing at 38.6% is amazing! The “hand-stitched tracksuit from Italy” was very popular and the OST was also incredible. Baek Ji Young had even made a cameo appearance! My favorites are in bold, but I really have to admit that the songs are all beautiful!

PS: Special episode 1 is an interview with the actors and some behind the scenes. Special episode 2 and 3 are 20 hours of the drama in 2 hours.


Leave a Reply

