The World That They Live In

그들이 사는 세상/ Worlds Within / The World That We Live In

Cast:

  • Hyun Bin as Jung Ji Oh (Director)
  • Song Hye Kyo as Joo Joon Young (Director)
  • Uhm Ki Joon as Song Gyu Ho (Director)
  • Seo Hyo Rim as Jang Hae Jin (Rookie Actress)
  • Lee Joon Hyuk as Lee Joon Gi (Joon Young’s ex-boyfriend)
  • Cha Soo Yun as Lee Yeon Hee (Ji Oh’s ex-girlfriend)

Year: 2008

Episodes: 16 (60 minutes)

Ratings: around 6

OST

Story/Synopsis:

This drama is about the process of a television drama production. Jung Ji Oh is a charismatic drama PD whereas Joo Joon Young is a direct and confident PD. (This is the cheap synopsis from DramaWiki… Writing a complete one would be too complicated because there are so many stories going at the same time. However, if you read the review, I believe that you’ll understand the story better…)

Essbee’s Opinion

88%

First of all, let me say that this concept is awesome. I liked the fact that we could see the “behind the scenes” of a drama making. We learn a little about writing the script, the work of a director, the actors and how that industry works. Of course, we only see a part of it and I know that it is not exactly as in the drama… but I liked it. Also, the love story was excellent. The drama started off with a double breaking up. Then, the guy and the girl decide to go back to each other, because they have already dated few years earlier, which is actually before the drama. This is where an awesome love drama starts.

So basically, it’s the story about two drama filming directors who have dated when they were younger. Now, they started dating again, but more seriously and they will fall deeply in love with each other. They kept their relationship as a secret. No matter what happens, they support each other and they trust each other (unlike other typical dramas…). However, suddenly, Ji Oh (the male character) breaks up with the girl… And as I said, many other stories would be twisted into theirs.

Hyun Bin is a hottie. No matter what he does, he is amazing. Him smiling, crying, screaming, drinking, fighting, kissing… anything makes the drama 100x better. And of course, he made an awesome couple with Song Hye Kyo. Both are dating in real life and it makes the drama feel so real. Song Hye Kyo is beautiful and her acting is excellent. I loved her also.

There were many other love conflicts in this drama. For example, the rookie actress with that annoying director and the petty actress with the old director. Their stories were also interesting, but I hated seeing their problems, because I only wanted to see the main couple. Actually, every character had their place in the drama. The all had important roles and we could see how they change, but it gets really boring compared to the main characters. The parts I was almost skipping were the discussion between many old directors. They were so useless and I felt that they were in the drama to fill in time.

Also, since people are making drama in this story, we realize their passion. For example, Soo Kyung (the frizzy guy) hates how dramas are fake while Joon Young believes in drama life. However, through their experiences, everyone in the industry realize the difference between a drama and real life. I liked that because seeing that made me believe that there could be a lot of truth in a drama…

I have to add that if this was my first Korean drama, I would have believed all the stereotype possible on Korean people. They all had awful temper and everybody scream on each other for small things. They insult people whenever they have the chance, such as jerk, son of a bitch, fool… When screaming doesn’t change anything, it becomes fighting. Punching at each other often happens on the street after drinking… because yes, Korean people drink every night and they get drunk even though they work the next day. Then, if everything goes right with family and friends, couples start fighting over nothing. [SPOILER]And of course, there must a disease somewhere. However, it’s not a fatal disease, so at least, the lead character won’t die. Still, it is the cause of the couple’s breaking up and we cry for both of them [SPOILER]

In this drama, I think that inserting narration into some parts of the drama makes this drama original. It explains the feeling of the main characters, but I think that it is too much. When we hear the narration, we often see long flashbacks. I know that I’m not the only one who is annoyed by long and useless flashbacks. However, I absolutely loved the one on the last episode. I won’t say more about that, but it made my heart jumping like crazy.

In this drama, as I said, there are a lot of important characters. I think that all of their acting are awesome. I especially loved  Gyu Ho, the despicable director. There is also the actress called Yoon Young. I hated her so much at the beginning, but then she became someone I really admired. I also have to mention about that writer, Lee Seo Woo, who seemed crazy. There are so many more that I liked, but all I will say is that they completed well the story around the main couple.

Except these friends, we see a lot of struggle with the families. Money, health and divorce are three factors to complications between every character in this drama. I really think that this drama have gone through a lot of aspects in life.

I think that this review shows how I loved this drama. The only part I hated were between episode 12 and 14. If you watch it, I think that you would understand very well why. The music gave a good ambiance to the drama. I don’t have any favourite song, because I haven’t seen all of them yet, but they are all very nice. I would really recommend this drama for anyone who’s looking for something different than the usual, complicated romance.

**But seriously, don’t you think that Hyun Bin’s smile is enlightening?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N5StSQKPerU&feature=related [<– With Spoilers]

Leave a Reply

