King of Baking, Kim Tak Goo

제빵왕 김탁구 / Jeppangwang Kim Tak Goo / Baker King, Kim Tak Goo / Bread, Love and Dreams / 面包王金卓求

Cast:

  • Yoon Shi Yoon as Kim Tak Goo
  • Eugene as Shin Yoo Kyung
  • Joo Won as Goo Ma Jun
  • Lee Young Ah as Jang Mi Sun

Year: 2010

Episodes: 30 (60 minutes)

Ratings: Peak=50.8%, Avg=38.6%

Ending: End of the Day (하루의 끝에) by V.O.S

Story/Synopsis:

Kim Tak Goo is the eldest son of Goo Il Jong, the president of GeoSeong Enterprise, a legend in the baking industry. Although he is an extremely talented baker and seemed destined to succeed his father as president, Goo Il Jong’s family plotted to rob him of his inheritance because he was born to Il Jong’s mistress, a maid at his household. However, due to complicated circumstances, Tak Goo’s mother, Kim Mi Sun has been kidnapped and then, disappeared from the world. Tak Goo‘s determination to find his lost mother and to become number one in the baking industry drives him to rebuild his career from scratch despite the many trials he faces.

StrawBan’s Review

95%

Amazing! I kind of miss amazingly awesome dramas like this one. It’s the kind of drama that, when the opening image is on your screen, you’re like freaking out because it just made you remember what the hell happened on the last episode and how it left you hanging and how you were so pissed that the episode ended there! They love to leave us hanging, those mean Korean dramas, don’t they?
Well anyways. The story line was really original. I have seen a lot of dramas that was related on food, and how the main character lives to defend the poor and then becomes a great chef and stuff. However, this one was different. There was a lot of things going on, but it wasn’t like overload of information either. It was really well put together and on top of that, the actors did an amazing job acting this out! Every expression on their face looked 99% real (it’s only 99% because I don’t believe in perfectness). The whole drama was like, eating a delicious bun while being so hooked up into it that when it ends and you look down at your bowl / bag / whatever you were getting your food from, it’d be empty. Okay, that didn’t really make any sense. It doesn’t matter. This is just this awesome that I’m running out of words to describe this. 

Oh, and one thing I was completely obsessed with during the whole drama – and let me tell you, there’s nothing that really REALLY gets me obsessed. The main actor, Yoon Shi Yoon, that is. HE. IS. SO. FREAKING. CUTEEEE. Like, I can’t stand his cuteness anymore. Everytime he smiles, it’s like as if nothing else mattered in this world. And when he cries … it’s really heartbreaking. The main actress (I’m actually confused now. I don’t know who’s the main actress anymore.) Eugene also did a great job portraying her character, and so does everyone else in the drama as a matter of fact! The young / child actors … woah. I never really expected much from child actors, because, I mean, let’s face it, they ARE still kids. But oh wow, they were REALLY convincing! P.s. if someone knows where I’ve seen that young Ma Jun, please do comment below.

The music! I looooooove the soundtrack! I like it when the actors participate in the soundtrack of their own drama. I don’t know, it makes it feel more personal and their own. Maybe it’s just psychological, but when I see the actress and I hear her voice in the background music, it just makes it way more realistic.

Anyways. I’ll stop this amazingly long review and leave you with three words. WATCH. IT. NOW.

Essbee’s Opinion: 86%

This drama could be called “Drama of the Year” because its ratings were awesomely high. More than half of South Koreans were watching the last episode. I would consider this drama as overrated, but I’m not denying the fact that it was really good. There has been many dramas better than this one, but I have to say that it is one of my favourite of 2010.

First of all, the story starts in the seventies, when everything started. This family wanted a boy for successor but the daughter in law only had two girls. The husband cheated on her and had a baby with a servant. On the other side, the wife cheated on her husband and had a baby with the secretary. Later on, we discover about these four characters: Goo Il Gong (the husband, the president of GeoSung company), Seo In Sook (the wife), Kim Mi Seon (the servant/mistress) and Han Seung Jae (the secretary). I will review every single character review afterwards, for those who are interested.

Then, 12 years later, the two children were born. Goo Ma Jun was the heir of Geosung company while Tak Goo was a little country boy. Somehow, fate would bring them together and they would spend a few months together. Tak Goo was considered as the enemy of the family… actually, the father and the grand mother loved him very much, but the others despised him. After a few months, Tak Goo left the house and we get to another 12 years later, after 6 episodes.

Now, we see Tak Goo all grown up, who is quite violent. However, we can’t deny that he looks adorably cute. Little by little, we meet all these characters again and new ones also. He then starts studying to become a baker in a very famous shop. At the same time, his brother Ma Jun also worked there. They have a gigantic competition between them. At the same time, they liked the same girl.

After a series of event, revenge was everywhere. Hate and betrayal. It was really hard to watch after episode 15, where you just think: “WHY?!?!?!” During a few episodes, the atmosphere was really heavy. I really had to stop every half an hour (because, yes I was watching almost non-stop) to release myself… Also, starting from around episode 20, the mother was going downhill. If you guys watched Shining Inheritance, you would understand how much we could hate her. We also hated Mr, Han to death.

Then, there is a PERFECT ending! What does that mean… It means that everything finishes awesomely well. We can’t complain about anything. Of course, it was NOT predictable at ALL. The last episode was full of surprise and I liked it a LOT! Also, a good drama must also be supported with a wonder music soundtrack. My favourite song is “Hope Is a Dream that Never Ends” from KyuHyun (Super Junior). I also have to mention how we end up loving buns and breads and feeling hungry when we sit in front of the computer/TV.

Furthermore, the acting was wonderful. When we search a little, we realised that the two lead male were rookie actors and they amazed me. This drama also was realised with low budget and few promotions, but look how Korean people adored it! I will continue with a character review, for those who are really curious… because I felt the need to talk about every single important character of this drama…

Kim Tak Goo: This guy is the nicest guy ever. Since he was 12, he was always patient and thinking for other people. He was naive and cute, but after he grew up, he was still cuutee!!! So at first (at 24 years old), he seemed really violent and beating anyone. However, he seemed to mature a lot during the following years while he worked at the bakery. From the very beginning, he had sense of responsibility and justice. How many time he touched me with his actions and made me cry because of his fantastic acting? And of course, we can`t deny that this guy looks really cute and have a sexy mouth and reminds me of Lee Jun Ki. I shall called him, Lee Jun Ki’s cute dongsaeng.

Goo Ma Jun: This guy was despicable since the beginning. He wanted to have everything by himself and is quite petty. However, I found it weird that I didn’t hate him at all. Every time he did something awful, I forgive him. However, he had done things that makes me want to kill him. I guess that he was really nice compared to his parents and moreover, he’s quite handsome. Don’t you guys think that he had a TOP (Bigbang) look? Also, I think that as long as his love is real, it’s a good guy. 🙂

Shin Yoo Kyung: Poor girl. It’s the person that we really pity. So many tough things happened to her. Every time she seemed to be happy, she was tortured, again and again. However, she finally could stand up and tell what she thinks. When she gets her revenge, I must tell that she was quite scary, with her intense makeup.  Even if it was really unpredictable, her love story had a 180 degrees change and she could finally live happily at the end, with the one she loves.

Yang Mi Seon: This short hair girl is always optimistic and supportive to everyone. She’s the daughter in the bakery and she will be an important character, especially near the end.

Goo Il Jung aka the father: He’s an awesome dad. He cares for his children and he’s a BREAD lover!! What I hated though was the fact that he couldn’t see the problems happening in his own house. Him being cheated, being betrayed was secret for such a long time! However, I just loved him, at the end, when he punishes the bads and made awesome decisions.

Seo In Sook and Han Seung Jae: The two evils of the story. I hated them so much that I wanted to stab them. Even if we knew that they were going to be punished at the end, we cannot stop hating them. The things they did to people around them were horrible. In the first half, the mother was the worse, always acting like a b*tch. On the other half, it’s the secretary who started pissing me off really much. He wasn’t nice at first, but we literally want to kill him. He just go beat anyone he doesn’t like.

Master Pal Bong: The teacher of the father, Takgoo and Majun. His love for bread also impressed me. I think that through his no-words teaching, everyone learned so much from him. He left a lot of knowledge to the young people. [spoiler]When he died, I couldn’t stop crying. It wasn’t THAT bad when the family was crying, but then, you see like 100 chefs who were standing on the streets and started crying.[spoiler]

Jin Goo: This character is the one I had changed my opinion on for 50 times. I thought he was bad, but he wasn’t. Then, he was bad again. [spoiler]But he IS good at the end[spoiler] But isn’t his tired look seem scary??

Others. Kim Mi Seon: the mother whom went from a servant running away to a president of “something”… Her accent was so annoying and I thought that she could have changed her accent after 16 years, but no. The Goo sisters: they were not important at all. They were present and said some random things. Except the eldest who got a more important role at the end. Yoo Kyung’s dad: he was beating his daughter so bad. However, he seemed to have woken up after 16 years and acted like a father, after Tak Goo asked him to do so.

3 thoughts on “King of Baking, Kim Tak Goo

Leave a Reply

