Magicians of Love

愛情魔髮師 / 爱情魔发师 / Ai Qing Mo Fa Shi / Love Magicians

Cast:

  • Ming Dao (Du Ya Si / Artz)
  • Joanne Zeng (Bei Ruo Yi / Xiao Bei)
  • Sam Wang (Lin Er Qi / Richie)
  • Jacky Zhu (Fei Nan Du / Fernando)
  • Huang Yu Rong (Xiao Zhe Ming)
  • Sonia Sui (Ye Ke Lan)

Year: 2006

Episodes: 22 (45 minutes)

Opening: “Wan Mei Qing Ren / 完美情人 / Perfect Lover” by 183 Club

Ending: “Tian Mi Yue Ding / 甜蜜约定 / A Date So Sweet” by 183 Club

Story/Synopsis:

World-wide famous hair salon Neo-Image has just opened. The beautiful hairstyles of the three popular hairstylists (Artz, Richie and Fernando) attract huge crowds. At this time, an external official came to them for help. There was an event called “The Chinese Hairstyle Competition” and they have found a part-time working young female hair-dresser, Xiao Bei, to compete against the French stylist to help advertise the French Hair Products. As this competition will greatly affect the country’s status, the three guys decided to help.

Later, they find talent in Xiao Bei and trick her into working for Neo-Image, since she refused to cooperate without a fight. One day, Xiao Bei is about to be hit by a car when Artz pushes her away and saves her life. He was wearing a jacket with the number 23 on it. When Xiao Bei saw Richie wearing the jacket and assumed that he was her savior, and she fell for him. However, Richie leads a dangerous life and he lives without knowing if he will have a “tomorrow” or not. Xiao Bei volunteers at a retirement home. A coincidence occurs involving Xiao Bei and Artz visiting his grandma Li Lian at the same time. Grandma Li Lian realizes that they are the perfect couple and convinces Artz into admitting his true feelings for her before it’s too late.

-DramaWiki

Trailer (Then again, it’s not a trailer. It’s the opening song. It’s the closest to trailer I can find … WHERE DID THOSE TRAILERS GO?):

StrawBan’s Review  

75%

Story wise, to be honest, wasn’t the best thing ever. I mean, I’m fine with hair styling stories, but it wasn’t my favorite thing. However, it was pretty interesting, and I learned a lot about hair styling! The plot was more or less epic, I could more or less predict what was going to happen too, but it was a cute little story without too much hate from the viewer. I mean, there’s no character that you absolutely want to kill from beginning to end. Of course, there are the annoying ones here and there, but hey, why would this be a “drama” without those?

Okay. I think towards the middle, it got sort of slow. The acting was good, so I kept going, but at some point, the story just got really messed up and complicated. Have I ever mentioned that I hate when the main characters don’t explain themselves to each other? Do you know how much more drama one single misunderstanding can cause?! But then again, it’s a drama xD.

As for the acting, I was pretty much impressed by the main actors! Ming Dao did really good in his role as we can feel the transitions between him cold at first and then warm at the end under the influence of Xiao Bei. I personally couldn’t see it, until at some point later on in the story, I was like “Hey, that was really nice of him. Where did his cold and distant side go?”. Joanne Zeng also did a really good job! At first, I was a little hesitant about watching this, because I didn’t know the main actress, but it ends up being a good thing. I think she’s new in the acting when this came up. Although her crying scenes weren’t the best I’ve seen, it was pretty good. The supporting characters, I felt that there could be more exaggeration when it comes to devastating news and such. Oh, Fernando did a good job. His clothes and hair are always so … ?!?! But naturally, as a hair dresser, I think it fit well in the environment and all.

Overall, I think it was a cute drama. It has been a long time since I watched this, so I don’t remember it too detailed, but I don’t remember it being bad or anything.

Leave a Reply

