Playful Kiss

장난스런 키스 / Jangnanseureon Kiseu / Mischievous Kiss / Naughty Kiss

Cast:

  • Kim Hyun Joong as Baek Seung Jo
  • Jung So Min as Oh Ha Ni
  • Lee Tae Sung as Bong Joon Gu
  • Jang Ah Young as Hong Jang Mi

Year: 2010

Episodes: 16 (60 mins) + SP 7 (10 mins)

Ratings: 4.9%

OST:

  • Kiss Me by G.Na
  • One More Time by Kim Hyun Joong
  • Should I Confess You by SoYu
  • I Miss by Mate

Related to: It Started With A Kiss, They Kiss Again, Itazura Na Kiss

Story/Synopsis:

The drama is about a popular and genius male student named Baek Seung-jo who has a stand-offish personality, and Oh Hani, a female student who makes up for being not-so-genius by always being smiling and happy.  An earthquake destroys the girl’s home and she and her dad end up living with the boy’s family. The girl has kept this boy in her heart but she has never received any assurances of her love being reciprocated. Fun and groans ensue as they interact and rub off on each other.

Trailer: CLICK HERE

Essbee’s opinion

FINAL REVIEW: 79%

I think that every person who saw the only the first episode would say: meehh…. not very good… The story’s progress is also really slow, there’s no BAM & WOWs… However, everything goes step by step and it gets much better after.

Everybody says that Kim Hyun Joong’s acting improved a lot, but I think that he stayed the same… because he always have been pretty good. He’s really handsome, such a pretty boy, and I like his haircut, except for a few episodes where the hair was weird. His character was exactly the same as in It Started With A Kiss. Smart, cold, hot, perfect, but he will eventually fall in love with a stupid girl… who is Hani. She is so adorable! At first, I thought that she looked a bit odd, but now I adore her!

Seung Jo’s family is wonderful! The two dads are just so immature while being with each other, but they are so cute! The mother is the nicest woman EVER! The little brother is just as smart as Seung Jo and he’s like a even better version of the little brother in the Taiwanese version. I love Baek Eun Jo!!!!

Dongju, the young cook is so nice to Hani. He’s caring and all he wants is to be with Hani, treat her well for the rest of his life. It’s really sad when they officially broke up. On the other side, Hae Ra is despised by everyone… maybe because she’s pretty or she’s smart, but most people hate her because she flirts with Seung Jo. Also, the tennis coach looks really old, but he’s really funny and nice. The friends of Ha Ni are so nice and I just love the plot.

One thing I really hate is that they don’t show many stuff. It quite hard to explain actually. Sometimes, we feel that a “event” didn’t end yet, but in the drama, it’s already the next day, and we don’t know what happened actually. It’s confusing and we want to know what will happen next! [That was really vague, but if you watch it, you'll understand what I meant.]

In contrast to It Started With A Kiss, I would say that the plot is really similar. Also, there was also “scenes” from the second season (They Kiss Again) [SPOILER]with the honeymoon and Christine, the foreigner who speaks Korean [SPOILER]. I would add that actors were less experienced in the Korean version, but still, they’re better than me, so I love it. I would say that my favorite episodes are the last 3. The couple was just so sweet. Seung Jo was so dorky and Hani is now a nice wifey.

The OST consists of 4 songs. They’re all really nice, especially G.Na’s and Kim Hyun Joong’s… Surprisingly, the ratings for this drama are very low, but I believe that it is underrated. Then, the 7 special episodes on Youtube concluded this series. Every episode talked about a special event in their newly married life. It was really refreshing and I was completely satisfied with the ending. [SPOILER] Except maybe the fact that there’s no baby… :([SPOILER]

3 thoughts on “Playful Kiss

  1. omg!!!!!!!!! mais pk il joue tjrs les vieux drama……
    pis dans it started with a kiss jaime pa le gars….. il a lair trop mechan……….bah au debut lahh
    mais yes tjrs aussssi beau!!!!
    thxxx!!

  2. After 4 episodes (also), I find the drama quite entertaining to watch. I like the main girl very much (until now ^^) and I think that KHJ’s acting improved kinda… since BBF.
    I don’t really like the dream sequences in the first episode and the teddy bears in the endings (Goong much?).

  3. I am actually really pleased with this show so far. I am an avid fan of the anime and manga. I never watched ISWAK, but for being a hardcore fan of the original work I am happy with it =D.

    I’m not a huge fan of KHJ, but honestly he lives up to the character of Irie Naoki from the manga series. I’m totally loving him in this role.. *smacks herself for saying that* I can’t wait to see what happens now. I hope it ends like the anime…since that ending is the true ending of the series, how the creator wanted it to end anyways.

Leave a Reply

