You’re My Pet

きみはペット / Kimi wa Pet / Tramps Like Us

Cast:

  • Koyuki as Iwaya Sumire
  • Matsumoto Jun as “Momo” Goda Takeshi
  • Tanabe Seiichi as Hasumi Shigehito
  • Suzuki Sarina as Shirotae Yuri

Year: 2003

Episodes: 10 (45 minutes)

Ratings: 11.9

Theme Song: “Darling” by V6

Story/Synopsis:

Smart, successful and good-looking Iwaya Sumire works for a big newspaper. However, her boss asks her to leave for being too “perfect” a woman. Feeling angry and dejected Iwaya returns home depressed, and most of all lonely. However, when she finds an unconscious young man lying in a box out the front of her home and takes him in. He looks like a dog she used to own called Momo. She dubs him Momo and decides to “keep him as a pet.” It’s the start of an unexpected life together as they overcome obstacles and become quite attached to one another. But can love like this exist?

StrawBan’s Review:  

75%

Although it was a light and fun drama, the plot wasn’t as exciting as I thought it would be. Jun is really cute pretending to be a dog though. His acting is always as good. I somehow felt that the lead girl – Koyuki – wasn’t as convincing. The plot was also kinda guessable. Having seen a lot of dramas so far, there was nothing super surprising.

Also, the music was kind of strange. I mean the instrumentals. Maybe it’s just me!

On the other hand, I really learned a lot about dancing and all! This is all psychological. And I didn’t know modern dance was like that! I personally am not a huge fan of dance, partially because I don’t understand it and also because it never really attracted me. All I’ve ever seen was like, k-pop dance (yeah, I know haha) and ballet. So … yeah! In this drama, you can at least feel the need of the other person in the main characters. I sometimes still think that it’s kind of awkward that Jun is always so cute and all, but with this distant feelings at times … hmm.

Leave a Reply

