Itazura na Kiss

イタズラなKiss / Teasing Kiss / Naughty Kiss

Cast:

  • Sato Aiko as Aihara Kotoko
  • Kashiwabara Takashi as Irie Naoki
  • Ozawa Maju as Matsumoto Reiko
  • Naitou Takashi as Aihara Shigeo
  • Asada Miyoko as Irie Machiko
  • Tokui Yuu as Irie Masaki

Year: 1996

Episodes: 9 (45 minutes)

Theme Song: “Steady” by SPEED

Story/Synopsis:

Because of a fire at her house, Aihara Kotoko and her dad had to move to a friend’s house. It just happened to be the same guy she kissed on the first day of school, Irie Naoki. It’s only normal that Naoki and his younger brother hate her, not only because of that kiss, but also because of her naturally loud voice and her nagging. His mother, however, loves her very much. Kotoko, on the other side, kept idolizing him for his brain and talents in sport. She eventually found herself in love with him. Gradually, that love came to break the icy cold heart of Naoki.

Based on the manga “Itazura na Kiss” by Tada Kaoru and adapted to a Taiwanese Drama, It Started With A Kiss and Korean Drama, Mischievous Kiss.

StrawBan’s Review:   

55%

So, yeah, I didn’t quite like this. At first, I wanted to see this after I heard that it was what the drama It  Started With A Kiss came from. I guess I was expecting something really big, because the Taiwanese one was really a good one. I only knew after making this post that it was filmed in 1996. DANG they had pretty good quality for 1996! I mean, I was still a kid back then. It respected the storyline pretty well, not that I’ve read the manga, but it’s a very popular story.

So what I did like about this is that everyone played their roles. Sort of. The storyline is good, I don’t have to mention that. Oh and the music was relaxing. The mom! Oh gooshh I want her for my mooommmm. She’s like insanely nice xD. Such a cool mom. Both the dads are funny, in their own way. Kotoko’s dad has been through a lot but he’s still such a kid at times. Naoki’s dad looked quite lost for most of the drama, although it’s his house. Maybe it’s just me. The little brother is  soooooo cutee! Even if he’s always mean. But I mean, he’s mean just because he doesn’t like her. And his brother doesn’t like her either. And then there’s the second male character. He’s so random! And straightforward, reminds me of Jiro in the Taiwanese version of this drama. His facial expressions are pretty funny too.

Okay so now the main characters. It’s only my opinion though, so if you loved the drama, don’t be offended! So first, I think that Kotoko was WAY too annoying for like … actually, the whole drama. At first, I thought that she was just going to be overly hysterical in the beginning before she met Naoki, but duuude. She just got more annoying. Is this how it is in the manga? You tell me. Also, it kind of bugs me that she doesn’t learn from her mistakes. There’s like too much of a personality change when she gets serious as opposed to her usual self. Sure, it could be realistic, but this was pretty much as far as Canada is from New-Zealand. If you didn’t understand that, please ignore, I can’t find any good images lol. I’m still not convinced her studying and seriousness got her into a nursing school.

Naoki, the male lead in this … well he’s funny when Kotoko pisses him off. I totally felt the coldness in him. The only thing is that I didn’t feel the love development between him and Kotoko. Maybe I wasn’t paying attention. The only time we saw his caring was when she almost fainted in front of the school he was going to do an entrance exam for, and at the very last few minutes. And even like 10 minutes before that, he didn’t seem like he was caring that much. I know he was supposed to act cold and all, but I think that was just way too much of coldness. Shivers running down my back at this moment.

So yeah. Maybe it was because I saw the Taiwanese version before that this one looked less interesting.  It’s up to you whether you want to see it or not.

P.s. THAT TRAIN CROSSING PLACE … IT’S IN EVERY DRAMA (almost)!! Anyone knows where exactly it is????

Late for a meeting, Kotoko was running along the corridor in school and bumped into Naoki, their lips meeting. Naoki showed his disgust, but Kotoko started to idolise him, who was good at everything from studies to sports. When Kotoko’s house burned down, her father’s good friend Machiko invited them to move in with her family. It was then that Kotoko realised Naoki was the elder son of Machiko, who took up the role of a fairy-godmother to bring the two together…despite the fact that Naoki was disgusted. Not discouraged, the clumsy and not-so-bright Kotoko started to do everything that would change her impression on him. Gradually, the icy-cold Naoki who disliked girls started to feel for Kotoko…

2 thoughts on “Itazura na Kiss

  1. In case u haven’t seem it the taiwanese adaptation of this is soooo gd!!!! give it a try?? It’s called it started with a kiss!!!😄

Leave a Reply

