My Girl

마이걸 / Ma-i-geol

Cast:

  • Lee Dong Wook (Seol Gong Chan)
  • Lee Da Hae (Joo Yoo Rin)
  • Lee Joon Ki (Seo Jung Woo)
  • Park Si Yeon (Kim Seo Hyun)

Year: 2005 -2006

Episodes: 16 (60 min)

Ratings: 22.1 (Seoul); 21 (Nationwide)

Theme Song: “Never Say Goodbye” by Mario & Nesty

Story/Synopsis:

When Gong Chan meets the lively and beautiful Yoo Rin, he finds out that she has connections to his missing cousin, whom his grandfather has been searching for. He asks Yoo Rin to lie about being his long missing cousin until he can find his real cousin. She says yes, but soon their feelings for each other get in the way of their plans. Gong Chan’s friend, Jung Woo falls for Yoo Rin while Gong Chan’s ex-girlfriend, Seo Hyun, a pro tennis player, tries to win him back. Will the two ever tell each other how they feel? Will Gong Chan ever find his real cousin?

Essbee’s Opinion:

86% It was an awesomely funny drama! It has been a while that I have seen this drama, so I do not remember the details. However, I do remember that I loved the drama. I was laughing all the time and the drama was filled with ups and downs.

The lead actress is sooo hilarious! One of the funniest scene that marked me was the pepper-eating scene. If you watch it and do not laugh, tell me how you do it. She is a great actress and I loved seeing her, whether she was lying or telling the truth, laughing or crying. I felt that this character went through a complete change thanks to Gong Chan’s family.

Even if I find this cousin story far fetched, I guess that it could be kind of possible. Gong Chan was also an absolute cute person. Even if he seemed cold and mean, he also was greatly changed by Yoo Rin.

This is also the first drama where I have seen Lee Jun Ki. I have heard that he was really handsome, but I did not think so in here. He was just a rich, nice boy with very small eyes. However, I loved him in Time Between Dog And Wolf. I guess that this drama did not show the best of him. The supporting actress was very good too. Even if he scenes of desperation were long and boring, I feel sympathy for her.

The songs in this drama were very nice. They all had a winter feeling to them. Oh and I have to mention that the last part of the last episode is the link with Delightful Girl Choon-Hyung. I felt that it was such an original ending and it deeply marked me.

I could not write a deep review for this drama because I have forgotten a lot of details. However, I am watching Rainbow Sweetheart, which is the Chinese version of My Girl. It is actually a very good remake. I will definitely compare these two dramas in my future review.

Leave a Reply

