Devil Beside You

恶魔在身边 / E Mo Zai Shen Bian

Cast:

  • Rainie Yang as Qi Yue
  • Mike He as Jiang Meng
  • KingOne Wangas Shang Yuan Yi
  • Tsai Pei Lin as Qing Zi
  • Ivy Fan as Xin Li Xiang

Year: 2005

Episodes: 20 (45 min)

Opening: “Jerk” 臭男人 by 黄义达

Ending: “Ai Mei” 暧昧 by Rainie Yang

Devil Beside You OST

Story/Synopsis:

When Qi Yue (Rainie Yang) finally decides to confess her love to the handsome Yuanyi (KingOne Wang), the basketball team’s captain, she accidently gave her love letter to the devil of the school, Jiang Meng (Mike He). He blackmails Qi Yue and she had to be his personal servant. However, she bears him because she feels that life is great with Yuanyi.

Later on, her mom finds her love and he is the dad of Jiang Meng. Now, she has to live with him, in the same house. The worst was when he enters in the basketball team and Qi Yue is the manager of the team. Now, they must be together at school, at home, and during afterschool activities…

Little by little, always being together made them being close more and more, but they are now brother and sister. Who would accept that?

Essbee’s review

100% THE BEST DRAMA EVER! Oh Wow! This is my personal WOW! At the moment the drama starts, I couldn’t stop it! Actually, I’ve started it the Christmas’ Eve, so I watched it all night.

The actors really did a great job. Rainie Yang is really a cute girl. I find it difficult to hate her, but it seems that there are many people who don’t like her. Personally, I think she’s a great actress. Of course, since she played in my favourite drama. Mike He, the “jerk”, is so handsome! He’s plays the typical-Taiwanese-bad-guy-with-the-kindest-heart-ever. I loved his acting and I’m anticipating the two dramas he will play in 2010 (P.S Man and Calling for Love).

The support characters are KingOne and Tsai Pei Lin. I think this is one of the only drama where they aren’t the love rivals. They support the main characters and they are real friends. They make a very sweet couple. The remarkable moment between these two is of course the scene with the red umbrella.

Also, I loved Ahmon’s friends. First of all, Lixiang is someone we hate at the beginning, but little by little, we like her and we discover that she’s really a nice girl. Masayama Yuki was the adorable blond guy. He did everything for the girl he loved and he’s such a loyal friend!

The storyline is very original and events are happening one after another. Through this story, we discover the importance of friendship for both sides. I loved the 4 songs in the OST. Even though most people loves “Ambiguous Love”, my favourite was “Ideal Lover”. Why? I think that we heard “Ambiguous Love” at least 5 times per episode. After 20 episodes, I was quite annoyed, but I can’t deny that it’s a wonderful song.

Usually, I don’t suggest this to friends… I force them to watch it… 🙂

OMG OMG OMG! Still can’t get over it even after so many years!!!!

One thought on “Devil Beside You

Leave a Reply

